Decatur Tribune Online


J. Thomas McNamara
Sports Editor

Decatur Tribune
Email Tom at

Check out McNamara's "Irish Stew" every week in the print edition of the Decatur Tribune.
Columns Are Printed With The Most Recent Displayed First

Decatur Tribune Offices Are Located At:
132 South Water Street 
Suite 424
P. O. Box 1490
Decatur, Illinois 62523

Mon.-Thurs. 9:00-4:30 Phone: 217/422-9702
​Fax: 217/422-7320


Mac on Sports

Pat Althoff Lands Promo 

 Serving Illinois men’s basketball runs in the Althoff family.
    Pat Althoff, who was point guard on St. Teresa’s 2015 runnerup Class 2A team, has been named one of the two co-head managers for Brad Underwood’s men’s basketball team for 2018-19.
    His brother, Chris, served as Bruce Weber’s head manager the year after their national runner up 2005 season. 
    I will have more on this developing story in a future print edition of the Decatur Tribune.

Heart Of Illinois All-Star Game March 21

    Along with the Warrensburg Lions Club, Vic Binkley and his Warrensburg-Latham Cardinals once again are sponsoring the Heart of Illinois All-Star game for 7:30 Wednesday, March 21, in the Cardinals gym.
   Coaches from the south and north teams nominate players and then vote on the top 15, who will play in what always is an entertaining evening for the players, coaches and fans alike.  Only seniors can be nominated and they can play in three all-star games in a school year.
   He sent another reminder last Wednesday asking coaches to submit their nominations so he can put together the ballot for them to select those who should play in the all-star game from the lists coaches submit.
       Schools representing the south are, in alphabetical order, Argenta-Oreana, Auburn, Buffalo-Tri-City, Cerro Gordo/Bement, Decatur Christian, Decatur Eisenhower, Decatur LSA, Decatur MacArthur, Decatur St. Teresa, Edinburg, Maroa-Forsyth, Meridian, Mount Zion, Okaw Valley, Sangamon Valley, Sullivan, Taylorville and Warrensburg-Latham.
   From the north are, also in alphabetical order, Athens, Clinton, Deland-Weldon, Deer Creek-Mackinaw, Delavan, Downs Tri-Valley, Farmer City-Blue-Ridge, Greenview, Hartsburg-Emden, Havana, Heyworth, Illini Central, LeRoy, Lincoln, Midwest Central, Monticello, Mount Pulaski, Olympia, Petersburg-Porta, Riverton, Rochester, Springfield Calvary, Springfield Lutheran, Tremont and Williamsville. 
   Each player selected is expected to come up with a $25 sponsor to help offset costs of the game.  A program with player profiles, digital pictures and statistics will be provided.  Player information will be required after selections are made.
   The Lions Club will be serving nacho supremes and Culver's ice cream at nominal cost.
       South coaches nominated these players from their respective schools--Jonah Smith, Clayton Marquardt, Trevor Durand and Mitchell Binder, all of Mount Zion; Ezra Schaal, LSA; Tim Winters, Cerro Gordo/Bement; Jameson Smith, Central A&M; Benji Eaker, Auburn; Isaiah Bond and Manny Green, both of St. Teresa; Tyler Deaton of Sangamon Valley; Jordan Moats, Taylorville; Cameron Getz, Meridian; Daanish Mahmood, Maroa-Forsyth; and three from Monticello, Calvin Fisher, Luke Stokowski and John Dawson.
   Binkley also released these North team nominations Friday afternoon--Mount Pulaski's Peyton Taylor and Gezus Oliver; Lincoln's Isaiah Bowers and Ben Grunder; Athens Drayton Davis and Garrett Reichert; Heyworth's Tate Eller and Jeremy Witten; Williamsville's Casey Tuttle and Joseph Mitchell; Greenview's Kyle Huddleston; Springfield Lutheran's Drew Cowles; Riverton's Tyler Moulson; Petersburg-Porta's Christopher Nicholas; deer Creek-Mackinaw's Neal Scheuermann and Dawson Jones and Clinton's Austin Baker, Seth Westfall and Austin Rauch.